Award-winning gardens and parklands – Donegal’s top attraction
Oakfield Park is a beautifully restored 18th Century Georgian Deanery sitting in a lush landscape with 100 acres of parkland and mature woodlands to explore. The grounds include formal walled gardens, ponds, lakes, a lakeside Nymphaeum, Heritage trees, sculptures and extensive walks and trails and a 4.5km narrow gauge railway with a Diesel & Steam Train operating passenger trips.
Oakfield Park is an eighteenth century Georgian Deanery, which has won several National awards for the restoration of its gardens and buildings. Sitting in a lush landscape of parklands and mature woodlands, overlooking the distant Croaghan Mountain, the grounds include a traditional walled garden and kitchen garden. The lower gardens consist of a large lake, planted with reeds and wild flowers. This is now home to swans and abundant wildlife. A Castle Folly built on the opposite shore provides stunning views.
Flower meadows, lakes and streams, as well as wild and wetland areas are entwined with over 4km of narrow guage railway to give hours of pleasure. Discover willow tunnels, oak circles, boardwalks, several heritage trees, a par-terre and classical Nymphaeum by the upper lake.
Formal Walled Garden & Kitchen Garden
Parkland, Woodland & Riverside Walks
Train Rides (12 -6pm Sat & Sun & Bank Holidays) and (3pm on Wed, Thurs, Fri.)
Thoughtfully placed pieces of sculpture.
Garden Group Tours by arrangement.
Vintage Tea Van serving freshly brewed coffee, tea, home bakery, ice cream and Donegal craft Beers.
W.C’s with Baby Changing Unit.
Car Parking & Picnic Benches
Oakfield Park has been called the “the secret jewel of Donegal”. Bring your family and a picnic and spend the day in this glorious setting.
Oakfield Park, in Oakfield Demesne was built in 1739 for the Dean of Raphoe. It remained in use as a Deanery until 1869 when it was sold to Thomas Butler Stoney. Mr Stoney, who became a Captain in the Donegal Militia, built up the estate by acquiring additional land in Raphoe, including the ruins of the Bishops Palace. When Captain Stoney died in 1912 the house was inherited by his son Cecil who retained it and some land, letting it out during the 1920’s and 30’s.
Although it spent a number of years lying abandoned, Oakfield Park has largely been owned and occupied by several local families including the Morrows, Mc Elhinney’s and Pattersons. Oakfield Park was acquired in 1996 by the current owners Sir Gerry and Lady Heather Robinson who commissioned a major refurbishment and restoration of the house and grounds.
Alterations made during Victorian times and earlier were reversed and where possible the house returned to its original design. Wherever possible, the existing floorboards, stairs and panelling internally were retained and restored. The gardens have matured quickly and to-date more than 40,000 trees have been planted. An international collection of Oaks (Quercus) has been established in recent years.
A Victorian Ram Pump which was installed at Oakfield Park in 1864 is still in operation. It was used to pump water from a nearby stream up to the main house. This pump has been restored and is still in use today, supplying fresh water to the formal ponds in the walled garden.
contact email for Oakfield Park is gardens [at] oakfieldpark.com